Eating Vegan on the Go

One major lifestyle change that I made when I became vegan was that I began packing food to take with me to work everyday. I am usually gone for 10 to 12 hours a day because of my long commute from my teeny peninsula to Seattle.

Before I would simply buy food in the hospital cafeteria on each of my breaks.  Once I was vegan that simply wasn’t an option unless I wanted to live on a constant diet of spinach salad, a tiny bit of fruit, maybe a side of veggies or a taco, some French fries, or, on the really lucky days, a vegan soup of some sort.  Even the veggie burgers contain cheese. Obviously, this wasn’t going to cut it for my wallet or my stomach.

These days, I bring all my own food with me, and you can typically find me toting my ancient North Face backpack, that I have had since 10th grade, full of food containers.

Probably one of my favorite things to take to work is a ginormous salad full of all sorts of veggies, usually along with some beans and seeds thrown in for an extra protein boost. Around Christmas time I was lucky enough to receive a portable salad container from my mom.
What I love about it is that it has a little container in the top part that you can fill with dressing so that it stays separate from the rest of your salad until you are ready to eat.

You just twist the lid around and the dressing falls through the bottom into the salad, then just shake vigorously and devour!

It even has it’s own ice pack that fits nicely in the top to keep your salad cool and fresh.

I seriously don’t know how I would live without this container!

Another item on my biggest hits list are green smoothies. I drink these for breakfast almost everyday. They usually contain something along the lines of:
– a base of water, coconut water or almond milk
– banana for creaminess (you can also use avocado, but I avoid it cause the bf hates it with a passion)
– hemp seeds or ground flax seeds for omega-3’s
– other assorted fruit (often frozen strawberries or blueberries, orange, pear, mango, pineapple, kiwi, or whatever happen to be on hand…the possibilities are endless!)
– a ton of spinach, or another leafy green to provide a ton of vitamins, minerals, and fiber
– just blend it all up in the blender until smooth, then drink
I PROMISE they taste good! You can’t taste the greens, just the fruit, so it’s definitely a sweet, but not overly sweet treat. Plus it’s deliciously good for you!

The rest of my on-the-go food usually consists of leftovers or something easy to throw in a container, like a can of  soup. This varies from day to day, as you will see from my future blog posts.  I’ve usually also got a couple of bars of some sort and a piece or fruit or two to snack on.  Right now I’ve got the Mrs. Mays bars from Costco, but I don’t think I will be buying them again.  They’re tasty and healthy and the ingredients list is great, but they’re very hard and crunchy and I can’t eat them without making a huge mess!  Larabars are favorite, and there are many other options out there that are super yum and good for you.

As you can see, it is sooo easy to eat healthy as a vegan, even if you have a crazy on-the-go lifestyle!  :]

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Eating Vegan on the Go

  1. Pingback: How to Start on Your Path to Health Part One {and Amazeballz!} | Lindsay Loves Veggies

Leave a Reply

