Vegan Bar Food!

Hey! Hows it going out there? 🙂

I’m heading to work early today, because I was asked to start 3 hours early, making my 5 hour shift into an 8 hour shift.  It’s alright by me, just means a slightly heftier paycheck in a couple weeks.  That does mean that I’ll be gone for about 14 hours though.  I have to say, I’m actually starting to get used to these crazy long days.  At least I do have time to relax by myself for at least an hour before and after work, on the ferry.

Anywhooo, last night didn’t quite turn out as expected.  I had meant to go home from the bar that I was blogging from last night and try out a new-to-me recipe, but that changed quickly when the bartender told us we could bring our dog in the bar to hang out.  It was already around 9pm, so we chose to stay and hang out, get a couple beers, and try the vegan mac and cheese that the bar serves. Arlo loves being around people and getting attention, but he’s definitely still a daddy’s boy.

As usual, I went with a local IPA.  Red Hook’s Long Hammer IPA.

I was super, super impressed by their vegan mac and cheese.It was very creamy and savory.  Apparently, this is a nutritional yeast based dish with some mustard and garlic, according to one of the bartenders.  I will definitely be back for more, and I will definitely be trying to replicate this at home.  If you couldn’t already tell, I have kind of a huge thing for mac and cheese.  It’s a staple in my diet.

When I got home I drank some Yogi Detox tea with stevia and went to bed.

Today, I’ve got quite a bit packed with me, since I’m going to be gone for so long.  I’ve got a smoothie, brown rice cakes with Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter, a salad, a can of Amy’s Minestrone soup, and a peanut butter cookie Larabar.I honestly don’t even know what the bf put in my smoothie or salad today.  Nothing wrong with surprises though.  He knows what I like. 🙂

You’ll also notice that I’ve almost always got my giant 40oz Klean Kanteen with me as well.  I have a Brita filter in my fridge at home, so I’ve always got cold, clean water ready to go when I need it.  Gotta make sure you stay hydrated!!!

On another note, I have totally been getting the urge to get back into running lately!  All of 2010, up until November when my work schedule changed, I was running constantly, and even training for a half marathon that my new schedule ended up forcing me to cancel.  The itch to run is really getting me the last few weeks, but I’m finding it difficult to actually get out there and go.  I went running last Friday and on Monday, but a few random times isn’t cutting it.  The problem is that I can’t seem to find the energy or motivation to run most days, even when I’m craving it.  Something always gets in the way.  Does anyone have any tips or motivation for helping me get my butt back into running?? I really wish I could sign up for a race, but I would have to take vacation time to do it, since I work every weekend.  Suggestions????

I hope you all have a lovely day!

❤ Lindsay

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Vegan Bar Food!

  1. Pingback: How to Start on Your Path to Health Part One {and Amazeballz!} | Lindsay Loves Veggies

Leave a Reply

