Spaghetti Squash Marinara

Hey friends! How are you doing tonight??

I had a lovely time after I got home from work last night.  My friend, Jordan, whom I refer to as my little brother so often that people actually get confused and think we’re siblings, turned 21 at midnight last night!  So, of course, that required taking a little trip out to the bar to celebrate and have some drinks with him.  I’ve been waiting for him to turn 21 for quite a while, so it was nice to be able to go hang out and watch him have an awesome night.

Between getting home from work and heading out to the bar last night, I decided to make myself a fun little dinner.  I mentioned a few days ago that we bought a spaghetti squash at the Chimicum Farm Stand.

Well, I finally decided to bust it out and cook it.  Mind you, this was my first attempt at spaghetti squash, but it’s super simple, and I definitely think it turned out great!

Spaghetti Squash Marinara

(Adapted from 1000 Vegan Recipes)

  • 1 whole spaghetti squash
  • 2T EVOO
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 2 cups marinara sauce

Cook your whole squash in a large pot of boiling water for 30-40 minutes.

With the lid on to hold in the steam.Check out my legs reflected in the pot. Whoops! 🙂

Once the squash is soft enough to be easily pricked with a fork, drain the water, and cut the squash in half.

Then, scoop out the seeds and guts.  Scoop out the stringy flesh of the squash into a bowl using a fork, and toss the shell.

In a large skillet, heat the olive oil and toss in the minced garlic.  Once the garlic begins to cook, add your squash and marinara sauce.  I used Walnut Acres organic tomato and basil spaghetti sauce, but any brand will do. 

You can also create your own.

Mix all the ingredients together, stir-frying the squash and sauce until cooked.

Check out the steam coming off that baby!

Serve and enjoy!

I enjoyed mine with some green beans.

There were plenty of leftovers, but post-bar I came home and devoured all of them.

Kind of a bummer, I was hoping to take them to work today!  No big though.

 

What’s a food that you have never tried, but really want to?

 

❤ Lindsay

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

