Smoothie Alternative

Happy Thursday!

It’s another lovely, sunny, but cold day up here!

But, horror of all horrors, we were completely out of smoothie ingredients this morning!  How can I live??? The smoothie from yesterday was pretty much undrinkable.  The bf and I confessed to each other that neither of us were actually able to finish our smoothies yesterday, and dumped them out about halfway.  Just too thick (pulpy??) , and not enough flavor to go along with the orange and mango.

Since I wasn’t able to make myself a smoothie at home, I decided to do the next best thing and grab some of the good ol’ Starbucks.  It’s easy enough, since there are three directly in my path between my apartment and work. (One at our ferry terminal, one on my walk up to the bus, and one inside the hospital.)

I went with my usual grande soy chai, and decided to try the Naked Green Machine smoothie.

I’ve tried the Odwalla Superfood before, but this one is new to me.

Pretty good line-up if you ask me.  The only thing I could ask for would be the enzymes that were pasteurized out of it.  Enzymes are one of the best parts about eating raw foods; the enzymes from the food help the enzymes in your body break down the food, so that your body doesn’t have to work as hard.  Kinda cool, huh?  However, these enzymes are destroyed once they have been heated about 115 degrees.

This stuff tastes pretty darn delicious though.  Plus, the combo of algae provides 50% of your vitamin B12 per bottle!

Last night after work, the bf was sweet enough to take the ferry over to Seattle and meet me!  He even brought Arlo!  We all walked around downtown for a while, then headed back to the ferry.  Usually on nights, like last night, that I get off at 9pm, I have to sit around for almost an hour and a half in the ferry terminal by myself, so I was quite grateful for the excellent company. 🙂

We also bother decided to get one of my favorite decently healthy vegan fast food options.

Subway!

Since they added avocado to their options, I am obsessed.  Such an easy on-the-go vegan meal.  I get these way too often.  Again, the locations are so convenient for me, as well.

What are your favorite on-the-go vegan foods?

❤ Lindsay

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Smoothie Alternative

  1. Pingback: Starbucks Breakfast | Lindsay Loves Veggies

Leave a Reply

