Too Busy to Cook?

Hello!

The sun is back today and it actually feels like May, finally!!!  I’m heading to work, but I definitely won’t let that deter me from enjoying this beautiful day while I’m on my way there!

This week has started off well for me.  Monday I mostly just hung out with Keenan and Arlo, and went to go shoot pool with a couple friends in the evening (which, of course, included a basket of fries with ketchup).  We also got No Strings Attached from the Red Box.  Keenan loves Natalie, so he enjoyed it.  It was a bit too much of a RomCom for our taste though.  I definitely prefer my movies to be a bit more comedy and less romance.  You definitely know it’s a girly movie when they start making period jokes. Ew.

We also managed to teach Arlo to play fetch with a ping pong ball.  He is sooo darn proud of himself for being able to actually fit the ball in his mouth.  He can keep me entertained for hours.  I tried to grab some pics, but he won’t stay still long enough for me to get a good angle.

Yesterday was my grandma’s 80th birthday party at my aunt and uncles.  I’m lucky (in a way) that a few members of my extended family are lactose intolerant, so almost all of the food at the party was dairy-free.  The rest of the party had NY steaks, but I brought some Dr. Praegers veggie burgers with me for an entree, that my cousin, Rochelle, enjoyed as well.  I had a veggie burger, a huge serving of my mom’s Asian-style coleslaw, fruit salad, some sauteed onions, and a breadstick.  I actually had my plate full.  Definitely not something I was expecting to be able to do as a vegan at a non-vegan gathering.  🙂  It was a lovely time for all involved, and also gave Keenan a chance to meet some of my family members that I don’t see too often.

We went home and watched The Green Hornet, with Seth Rogan.  Definitely more our type of movie.  I’m pretty sure I’ve seen every (non-cartoon) movie that Seth Rogan is in.  And yes, I looked it up on IMDB to make sure. 😉 It was definitely comedy mixed with a superhero movie, and written by the same guys that did Superbad, so you know you’re gonna be laughing your booty off.

Today, Keenan is staying at home getting paid to pressure wash the parking lot at our apartment complex.  He definitely picked the right day to do it!  I am so jealous that he gets to hang out in the sunshine all day and make money off of it!

This morning, we ran around trying to get the pressure washing equipment from Keenan’s dad, and dropped Arlo off with his mom so she could puppy-sit for the afternoon.

While we were out I indulged in one of my very infrequent (formerly VERY frequent) loves, a sugar-free Red Bull.

I swear, with the small amount of caffeine that I typically consume, a Red Bull makes me feel like the Energizer bunny!  I definitely prefer the feeling that tea gives me, but I still enjoy energy drinks on occasion, despite the fact that I know how bad they are for me.

When we got back home, I didn’t have much of a chance to get a legit work dinner put together. I threw together a quick kale salad, but realized that there wasn’t much else in the house to pack.

I grabbed a Fuji apple on my way out the door to go to the ferry, but after finishing it, decided that I needed something a bit more substantial before work, so I stopped at Subway.

I figure I can eat half now, and half for my dinner at work.  $5 footlongs are awesome.  My standard Subway order is a footlong veggie delight on 9-grain wheat, with spinach, lettuce, tomatoes, cucumber, banana peppers, avocado, mustard, salt, oil and vinegar.  Fresh veggies, quick and easy.

Yummy!  Being too busy to cook never tasted so good!

What’s your favorite quick and easy healthy food option?

Now, get off your computer, quit reading blogs, and get out and enjoy that sunshine!!! 🙂

❤ Lindsay

Leave a comment

Filed under Work Food

Leave a Reply

