Peanut Butter Cup Green Smoothie

How’s your weekend going so far?  Mine has been pretty groovy.  🙂

Last night, my wonderful boyfriend took me out for dinner at a local casual Mexican restaurant called Los Cazadores.  I discovered their veggie menu (which was on a different wall than the rest of the menu, and not lit up like the rest of the menu), and ordered the veggie enchiladas without cheese.  It was served with rice and beans on the side, and I was hugely regretting forgetting both my camera and my Blackberry, so I couldn’t show you the awesome deliciousness.

We went home, and I did a workout from Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred.  I’m not nearly as sore today as I was the day after last time I did that workout.  I’m wondering if maybe I didn’t push myself as hard, since I had a huge belly full of food.  I’m usually more of a morning exerciser, and I definitely don’t like working out on a full tummy.  I did feel that I got a good workout, though, and had a good sweat going.  I also don’t feel quite ready to move on to the more advanced levels of the DVD yet, either.

After my workout, I decided to make a green protein smoothie for recovery/dessert.  I remembered the smoothie that I created and tweeted about a few days ago, and decided that now was the time to show you guys on the blog!

Meet the Peanut Butter Cup Green Smoothie.

It’s a salad and dessert at the same time!

Ingredients

1 cup Almond milk

1 scoop Sun Warrior vanilla protein powder

1 scoop Chia seeds

1.5 T Cocoa powder

2 T Peanut butter

1 Banana

2 cups Spinach

Agave syrup to taste

Put all of the ingredients in the blender, and blend until smooth.

If I were to plan ahead for this recipe, I would make sure to have a frozen banana, or some ice, to use for it.  Mine was room temperature, and while it was good, I think it would have been more enjoyable cold.  It was still amazing though.  The spinach was completely overwhelmed by the peanut butter, chocolate and banana, and it tasted just like a peanut butter cup.  Soooo good.

This morning, I woke up frantically to an incredibly loud jet engine noise.  Although I don’t  really believe in conspiracy theories, with all the talk about the end of the world ending today, all I could think was that my town was about to become a crater, and started saying my prayers.  Of course Keenan woke up as well, and after a few moments of “WTF?”, he reminds me that the Armed Forces Day parade was a few blocks down the street from our apartment, and that the noise was most likely just military planes doing a fly-by for the festivities.  Thank God.  Armaggedon evaded for now. 😉

I woke up and was reading my Twitter as “Today we’ve got vegan chocolate cherry coconut muffins...” caught my eye from the yoga studio near our house.  With that, Arlo was leashed up, and Keenan and I took a walk down the hill to the park/the yoga studio.

These were waiting for me when I got there.

As was this.

Grande soy coconut chai.

I couldn’t ask for a better breakfast. 🙂

Then, of course, it was time to get ready for work, and here I am.

Have a fantastic Saturday!!!

Do you guys have any fun dessert smoothie recipes?

❤ Lindsay

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

