I Just Wanna Run!

Hey!  How’s everything going out there?  I hope wonderfully!

I spent all day at work today (in between taking phone calls for patient food orders) trying to figure out some new ways to make living healthy more exciting for me.  I feel like I’ve fallen into a bit of a rut lately with my diet and working out, and I need some way to get myself out of it.  Without anything specific keeping me motivated my fitness is slumping and my food is getting pretty boring.

The first thing that occured to me was that…Duh!…I have a blog and readers that I need to keep entertained with what I’m eating!  If I’m bored with the food I’m eating everyday, how can you guys not be?  This week I am going to try to step it up a notch, and make an effort to prepare more, and more interesting, meals at home.  Check back in tomorrow night to see where that leads me!

Secondly, I remembered just how motivated I was to workout when I had something to work towards.  My adventures in running started because, a little over two years ago, I decided to sign up for my first 5K.  I ran on a somewhat regular basis for about two months preparing for the race and then slumped off again for the rest of the year.  The next year, I decided to sign up for the same race again, put myself on a strict training schedule, and blew my first race time (32:26) out of the water with 26:59!  That might not be a great time to some people, but for me, it felt amazing and set me off on a year of a crazy running obsession.  At the end of last summer I began training to run the Seattle Half Marathon, and even ran the full distance in training.  Unfortunately, I had to drop outof the race a few weeks ahead of time, because my schedule at work changed, forcing me to work every single weekend, as I still do today.  My work schedule has kept me from doing any races, but now I think it’s time to change that around, take a Saturday off of work, and run myself a race!

I believe I have decided to run the 4 mile Whale of a Run in Silverdale, Washington on July 30th!  I still need to look into taking the time off work before I will know for sure, but I believe that having a tentative date in mind will be the motivation I need to get out and run my butt off on a regular basis.  I will also take a page from my own book, and actually schedule my runs with myself, rather than leaving it up to chance.  I’m going to begin tomorrow with a 3 mile run, and go from there, mostly following the Hal Higdon Intermediate 5K Training schedule.  Wish me luck!

With that news, let’s get into todays eats!

I’m always a light breakfast eater, but this morning I was in such a hurry that I didn’t really have a chance to grab breakfast, so I just sipped on a Naked coconut water on the ferry, and had a Tazo Passion tea when I got to work.  By the time 2pm rolled around I was ravenous, so my PB&J was extra delicious.

This lucky sandwich actually survived the ride in my backpack today, unlike so many of its predecessors!

My second meal was, as usual, a lovely salad.

I don’t think I will ever give up my salad for work tradition.  They’re just too good, and healthy, and the energy that all that fresh raw produce gives me can’t be matched.  This was pretty standard: spring mix, Roma tomatoes, orange peppers, sprouts, chickpeas, and miso vinaigrette.

My evening meal was a nice bowl of Wolfgang Pucks Classic Tortilla soup. (Which may or may not have influenced tomorrow evening’s meal!)

 

It was good, but nothing too memorable. 

I am currently starving and almost home, so I am definitely going to be making myself an awesome snack when I get there.  I’m pretty stoked to get home and see my Arlo baby.  He spent last night at Keenan’s mom’s house (she’s madly in love with him), so I haven’t actually seen him since she stopped by and picked him up yesterday morning.  I miss him so much!!!  I know, I’m a crazy puppy mama.

What’s your favorite racing moment?

Honestly, mine was completing a 13 mile training run for the half marathon that I never completed.  At least I know that I would have been able to finish if I’d actually run it!

I hope you all have a wonderful night, and I will see you tomorrow!

❤ Lindsay

4 Comments

Filed under Work Food

4 responses to “I Just Wanna Run!

  1. TheShellyBelly

    Congrats on your great 5K time! Good luck with your training, it’s always good practice to plan your runs, otherwise they start being “optional” 🙂 I would have to say my favorite racing moment was seeing the finish line at my first marathon and knowing I could make it!

    • Thanks! Congratulations on your marathon! That’s something to really be proud of! Running 13 miles seemed crazy to me, I can’t even imagine what 26.2 must feel like! Marathoners definitely hold my respect.

  2. Pingback: Tortilla Soup and Jalapeno Cornbread Muffins | Lindsay Loves Veggies

  3. Pingback: Runner Envy | Lindsay Loves Veggies

Leave a Reply

