Salad Prep

Good afternoon from the Washington State Ferry system! 

Overheard from the ten (literally) small children sitting in the seat across from me, “This is only your first time on the ferry??  This is my one billionth time!”  Kids say the darndest things, right?  About five minutes later, I heard one of them talking about having Wi-Fi on the ferry, and I realized that when I was their age Wi-Fi didn’t even exist!  I’m old.

I’m currently munching on the other half of my Subway footlong from yesterday afternoon.

It held up surprisingly well in the fridge overnight!

I’ve also got a green smoothie to drink once I finish the sandwich.  Not sure of the combo, but I know it has frozen strawberries, so good enough for me!

Pretty good lunch, if you ask me!

One of the things that I’m having to adapt to now that Keenan is working full-time again, is that he is generally too tired in the mornings to get up and prepare all of my work food for me.  I’ve been so spoiled for the last few months, that letting go of it is a bit hard for me.  However, last night I was playing around in the kitchen, and I decided to try out a tip that many bloggers have given in the past. 

Salads are probably the most time-consuming part of the lunch-making process, so why not just prepare a large batch of salad ahead of time, then dole it out into a smaller container as it is needed?  It was the perfect idea.  It would save both Keenan and myself extra stress in the morning, and keep me eating healthy.

I threw a bunch of my spring mix and some garbanzos into a large plastic bowl with a lid.  Then, I proceeded to chop red and orange bell peppers, Roma tomatoes, and cucumbers and tossed them in as well.

This morning, all I had to do was grab a few handfuls of the mixture, throw them in my handy dandy salad container, and toss a couple tablespoons of sunflower seeds on top. 

That, plus filling the cap with dressing, and I was set!

I have a feeling that I’ll be using this tip quite a bit in the future to make our lives a bit less stressful. 

How do you save time with meal prep?

Have a terrific day!

❤ Lindsay

3 Comments

Filed under Work Food

3 responses to “Salad Prep

  1. You’ve successfully inspired me to create some salad! Not easy to get me to do much these days. 😉 Now I need me one of those containers.

    • Yay! I’m glad to be an inspiration. It’s half my reason for blogging! I have no idea where you can buy these containers. I got mine as a gift. It’s soooo convenient though since it has a spot for dressing and everything. I use it EVERYday. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Tortilla Soup Recipe | Lindsay Loves Veggies

Leave a Reply

