Tortilla Soup Recipe

Sup Bloggies?  I hope you’re having a great night!

I’m off of work early, and headed home to….well, I dunno.  Probably just going to sit around the house bored until I decide to go to bed.  Can I repeat enough times how much it’s driving me crazy not to have Keenan at home with me in the evenings???  I will definitely survive though.  Gotta get money somehow.

Work was pretty average, and raced by.

I very much enjoyed my pre-made salad during my first break.

I took a bit of a break from my favorite Annie’s Goddess dressing in a last few weeks to use a Miso Vinaigrette that I bought at Safeway, so it was great to have the Goddess back in action.  It’s just so good!  I can’t even describe it.

During my second break I got to dig back into the tortilla soup that I made last night.  It was definitely still amazing.  Tons of flavor. 

Last night I promised the recipe (my dad actually texted me to ask why it wasn’t in my morning post ;)), so here it is!

Tortilla Soup (adapted from Chile-Lime Tortilla Soup from 1000 Vegan Recipes)

Ingredients

1T olive oil
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 serrano chiles, seeded, 1 minced, 1 cut into 1/4-inch slices
3 cups veggie broth
3 cups water
8 oz Easy Baked Tofu, cut into 1/4 inch strips
1 (14.5 oz) can diced tomatoes, drained
1 (4 oz) can mild chopped green chiles, drained
Sea salt and pepper
1t dry cilantro
3T fresh lime juice
3 (6 inch) corn tortillas, cut into strips
1 avocado

Directions

1.  Preheat the over to 350F.

2.   In a large pot, heat the oil over medium heat.  Add the onion, cover and cook until softened, or about 5 minutes.  Add the garlic and serrano chiles, then stire in the broth, water, tofu, tomatoes, canned chiles, plus sea salt and pepper to taste.

3.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low and simmer, uncovered for 20 minutes.  Stir in the cilantro and lime juice.

4.  While the soup simmers, prepare the tortilla strips.

Spread the strips on a baking sheet and bake for about 8 minutes, until crisp.

Slice the avocado.

5.  Ladle the soup into bowls and top with tortilla strips and avocado.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You should definitely try it.  It was great with the jalapeno cornbread muffins that I made with it, and I also think it would be great with a side of rice and beans.  Anything Southwest or Mexican would probably be a great accompaniment, actually.

With that, I will leave you to your Saturday night!  Hope it’s a great one!

❤ Lindsay

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe, Work Food

Leave a Reply

