Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

Good afternoon, folks! 

I am still on a roll with the sleeping in thing.  I stayed in bed until almost 12:30pm today, before finally getting up and preparing for work.

Last night was pretty fun.  As soon as I finished blogging last night, I realized that we were out of frozen berries, and decided to make a trip to Costco to grab a bag of frozen strawberries.  Frozen berries are kind of an essential in our household, since they’re a critical part of a great green smoothie.

On my drive out to Silverdale the weather was acting all sorts of crazy.  It was bright sunny, but pouring down rain at the same time!  Washington is totally crazy sometimes.  When I got to the Costco parking lot I looked up and saw a gorgeous double rainbow in the sky.  I tried snapping a few photos, but I realized later on that my data card was still in my computer at home.  I could have smacked myself.

I grabbed that bag of strawberries at Costco, and also came out with a large container of fresh blueberries, a flat of granny smith apples, and a giant bag of tortilla chips.  I actually ended up freezing the majority of the blueberries, as well, and leaving a few out for my snacking pleasure.

Hitting up Barnes and Noble was next on my agenda, but I couldn’t find any books that really caught my interest, so I went next door to World Market.  World Market is like a candy store to me.  So many fun things to ooh and aah over!  I left with a package of soba noodles and four fun placemats to use for food photography, and then headed to Target to check out the new food department.

Our Target recently went through a major re-model to make room for a whole mini-grocery store in the back, including some produce.  I picked up a few things, including a couple of ingredients for my dinner and soem merlot.

By the time I got home I was starving again, so I quickly poured myself a glass of wine and started putting dinner together.

Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

Ingredients

4 bell peppers
1/2 large onion
1 carrot, peeled
1/2 cup mushrooms
1/2 cup frozen peas
2 cups quinoa, cooked with veggie broth
1/4 cup Daiya shredded mozzarella

Directions

1.  Preheat the oven to 375F.  Chop onion, mushrooms and carrot into 1/4 inch pieces.

2.  Coat a saute pan with cooking spray, and cook the onion, mushroom, and carrot for about 10 minutes, stirring frequently.

3.  Once the mushrooms are soft, remove from heat, add the peas and quinoa, and mix until combined.

4.  Cut the tops off of the bell peppers and remove the insides.  Place in a baking pan, and fill each pepper with the quinoa mixture.  Top each pepper with a sprinkling of Daiya shredded mozzarella, and bake for 30-40 minutes.

5.  Enjoy!!

These peppers are fantastic.  Please do yourself a favor and make them asap!!

Anywho, I hope your day totally rocks!  I am off to work!

❤ Lindsay

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

